• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Book chapter

Interaction Effects of Intellectual Capital in Company’s Value Creation Process

P. 314-322.

“Intellectual capital” is a new term for key resources of a firm that enable it to compete on challenging market. Such assets as IT-systems, brand, employees’ knowledge and competencies are crucial for any company. However, large stocks of these resources do not lead to success automatically. The main purpose of this paper is to find out how interconnections between intellectual capital components contribute to company value. We test empirically linear and non-linear relationship between intellectual capital components and business performance with the assumption of their mutual influence on each other. From the theoretic point of view we combine the theory of intellectual capital with Value-Based Management concept and Resource-Based View in order to investigate the way that firm’s intellectual resources transform into its value.

There are two main problems when dealing with intellectual capital. The first one is intellectual capital evaluation. Previous papers on this topic are usually based on either questionnaire data or information from financial reports. However, questionnaire survey has significant disadvantage as the data obtained include subjective opinion of respondents. Financial reports lack for information about amount of firm’s intellectual capital. Therefore we propose another way to estimate intellectual capital components. Each of three components – human capital, structural capital and relational capital – is measured through the set of financial and non-financial proxy indicators which are collected from company’s reports and its web-site. Further these data are aggregated in first principal components through factor analysis to obtain the comprehensive view of intellectual capital structure. The second problem is to measure the value that has been created by intellectual resources. We chose two measures – market capitalization and market-to-book ratio.

Proposed method of analysis of intellectual capital is used on the sample of 59 firms from European countries with high level of economic and knowledge development. The sample covers five year period (from 2005 to 2009). We used the LS method to assess the direct and indirect relationships between intellectual capital and corporate value.

This study contributes in different ways. Firstly, it helps researchers and management to understand what synergetic effects between intellectual capital’s components take place. Secondly, it proposes an application of principal components method for investigating intellectual capital. Also it helps to recognize the level of homogeneity of intellectual capital elements that are combined in human capital, structural capital or relational capital and therefore are interpreted as describing one aspect of firm’s activity.

In book

Interaction Effects of Intellectual Capital in Company’s Value Creation Process
Edited by: J. Surakka. Reeding: Academic Publishing International Limited, 2012.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Глава

Interaction Effects of Intellectual Capital in Company’s Value Creation Process

P. 314-322.

«Интеллектуальный капитал» - это новый термин для определения ключевых ресурсов фирмы, которые позволяют ей конкурировать в жестких рыночных условиях. Такие активы как IT-системы, бренд, знания и компетенции работников фирмы, являются необходимыми для любой компании. Тем не менее, большие запасы этих ресурсов не приводят автоматически к успеху фирмы. Главная цель данной работы – определить, какой вклад в стоимость компании вносит взаимное влияние между компонентами интеллектуального капитала. В работе эмпирически тестируются линейная и нелинейная модели взаимосвязи между компонентами интеллектуального капитала и результатами деятельности фирмы, с учетом предположения об их взаимном влиянии друг на друга. С теоретической точки зрения мы объединили теорию интеллектуального капитала, концепцию управления на основе стоимости (VBM) и ресурсный подход, для того чтобы исследовать, каким образом интеллектуальные ресурсы фирмы трансформируются в ее стоимость.

При анализе интеллектуального капитала возникает две основные проблемы. Во-первых, это оценка интеллектуального капитала. Предшествующие работы по этой теме, как правило, базируются либо на данных опросов, либо на финансовых показателях из отчетов компании. Однако опросы имеют такой существенный недостаток как то, что полученный данные включают субъективное мнение респондентов. В финансовых отчетах содержится мало информации относительно интеллектуального капитала компании. Поэтому мы предлагаем другой способ оценки компонентов интеллектуального капитала. Каждый из трех компонентов – человеческий капитал, структурный капитал и отношенческий капитал – были измерены с помощью набора финансовых и нефинансовых прокси-показателей, которые были собраны из финансовых отчетов и с веб-сайтов компаний. Далее эти данные были агрегированы в первые главные компоненты посредством факторного анализа, для того чтобы получить всестороннее представление о структуре интеллектуального капитала. Вторая проблема – это измерение стоимости, которая была создана интеллектуальным капиталом. Мы выбрали два показателя – рыночная капитализация и соотношение рыночной и балансовой стоимости собственного капитала компании.

Предложенный метод анализа интеллектуального капитала апробирован на выборке 59 фирм из стран Европы с высоким уровнем развития экономики и распространения знаний. Выборка охватывает пятилетний период (с 2005 по 2009 годы). Мы используем метод наименьших квадратов для оценки прямого и непрямого влияния компонентов интеллектуального капитала на стоимость компании.

Исследование вносит вклад в следующих аспектах. Во-первых, оно позволяет исследователям и менеджменту компаний осознать существование синергетических эффектов между компонентами интеллектуального капитала. Во-вторых, оно предлагает способ применения метода главных компонент для анализа интеллектуального капитала. Это помогает понять уровень гомогенности элементов интеллектуального капитала, которые объединены в человеческий, структурный и отношенческий капиталы и потому интерпретируются как описывающие один аспект деятельности фирмы.

В книге

Interaction Effects of Intellectual Capital in Company’s Value Creation Process
Под науч. редакцией: J. Surakka. Reeding: Academic Publishing International Limited, 2012.