• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Book chapter

Company value creation: does the structure of intellectual capital matter?

P. 1135-1145.

Objectives
According to the framework of knowledge economy, production and management of knowledge are key aspects of firm’s activity nowadays. Intellectual capital (IC) is the crucial factor for company survival in the market. Therefore it is vital to realize the way that this capital helps to create firm value. The purpose of this study is to test empirically one aspect of the relationship between intellectual capital components and business performance – the influence of intellectual capital structure on process of firm’s value added creation.
Data
In order to analyze the process of intellectual capital transformation into the company value, the balanced panel data were collected. The sample consists of 64 British firms in 6 industries: retail and wholesale trade, machinery manufacture, chemicals manufacture, transport and telecommunications, oil extraction and producing. The panel includes five years: from 2005 to 2009. In order to obtain comprehensive data of chosen companies we used Amadeus Database (Bureau Van Dijk) as like as information from companies’ websites.
Methods
As far as there is no singular method of measuring value added by intellectual capital, we used five the most common methods: EVATM, MVATM, FGVTM, VAICTM, P/B ratio. We also used 14 variables as proxies for intellectual capital components.
The models are estimated with pooled cross-sectional OLS method.
Results
Most strongly influence of the intellectual assets structure is reflected in VAIC and FGV. At the same time, EVA and P/B ratio have weak or not significant relationship with the structure of the intellectual assets portfolio.
It should also be noted that models with human capital proxy in the denominator show a significant positive dependency between a ratio of the intellectual capital components and value added.
Moreover consideration of the industry factor changes the results only slightly.
Conclusions
The present study advances our understanding of how to manage knowledge-related resources and contributes to effective investment management. The results confirm that structure of intellectual assets has quite stable linear effect on the value added created by the company. The effect is observed both in the short and long term period. Consequently, management should consider not only an accumulated volume of intellectual capital, but also the ratio between these components in order to increase company value.

In book

Zagreb: University of Zagreb, 2011.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Глава

Company value creation: does the structure of intellectual capital matter?

P. 1135-1145.

Цели
В соответствии с концепцией экономики знаний, производство и управление знаниями – ключевые аспекты деятельности фирмы на сегодняшний день. Интеллектуальный капитал (ИК) – наиважнейший фактор жизнеспособности компании в условиях рынка. Следовательно, необходимо понимать то, каким образом этот капитал помогает создавать ценность фирмы. Цель данной работы – эмпирическое тестирование гипотезы о влиянии структуры интеллектуального капитала на процесс создания добавленной стоимости фирмы.
Данные
Для того, чтобы проанализировать процесс трансформации интеллектуального капитала в ценность фирмы, была собрана сбалансированная панель данных. Выборка состоит из 64 фирм Великобритании, принадлежащих 6 отраслям: розничная и оптовая торговля, производство, химическое производство, транспорт и телекоммуникации, добыча и переработка нефти. Панель включает пять лет: 2005-2009. Для получения исчерпывающих по отобранным компаниям были использована база данных Amadeus (Bureau Van Dijk) и информация с веб-сайтов компаний.
Методология
Поскольку не существует единого метода измерения стоимости, добавленной интеллектуальным капиталом, были использованы пять наиболее часто применяемых методов: EVATM, MVATM, FGVTM, VAICTM, P/B ratio. Для измерения интеллектуального капитала были использованы 14 прокси-показателей.
Модели тестировались с помощью метода наименьших квадратов на объединенной выборке.
Результаты
Наибольшее влияние структуры интеллектуального капитала отразили показатели VAIC и FGV. В то же время, EVA и P/B имеют слабую или незначимую взаимосвязь со структурой портфеля интеллектуальных активов фирмы.
Также следует отметить, что модели с прокси человеческого капитала в знаменателе  показали значимую положительную зависимость между соотношениями компонентов интеллектуального капитала и добавленной стоимостью. Кроме того, учет отраслевого фактора меняет результаты несущественно.
Выводы
Данное исследование улучшает наше понимание того, как управлять ресурсами, основанными на знаниях, и делает вклад в инвестиционный менеджмент. Результаты подтверждают, что структура интеллектуальных активов имеет достаточно стабильное линейное влияние на добавленную стоимость, созданную компанией. Данный эффект наблюдается как в краткосрочном, так и в долгосрочном периодах. Следовательно, менеджмент должен учитывать не только величину накопленных компонентов интеллектуального капитала, но также и соотношение между этими компонентами, для того чтобы увеличить ценность компании.

В книге

Zagreb: University of Zagreb, 2011.